Posted on

Who made my clothes? I made your hat!

The face of Faunauge

The global slow fashion movement is an important part of raising awareness for a fairer treatment of workers who make garments for the whole world. The working conditions under which the majority of consumers work are often unaware or are deliberately ignored. However, more and more consumers are publicly appearing to reverse the imbalance. The producers are given a face, no longer appear in masses whose needs are not heard.

What’s happening?

A campaign reminds us of the collapse of the Rana Plaza textile factory. “Who made your clothes? The Rana Plaza is just one example of the many abuses in the producing countries. On the one hand, it is wrong to say that the security conditions and the building fabric of the factories are extremely deficient, not only in Bangladesh but also in Vietnam. The tailors are being forced to work in buildings at risk of collapsing, threatened by wage cuts. On the other hand, the wages paid are not worth living. Families who actually live in the countryside have to split up, as their parents earn a little more money in the cities. However, the distance overpasses are not as luxurious as in Germany. Commuting means seeing each other only about twice a year. And if someone complains or even wants to join trade unions, they are physically threatened.

But everything that I can summarize here in a minimal way can be found out much better in the movie “The True Cost”, for example. An absolute recommendation!

“So what? It’s easy to make a shirt like that.”

Oh, really? Who’s ever tried that before? Understanding and know-how are part of this. T-shirts for 4 €, trousers for 10 €, shoes for 20 €? When you briefly add up what is needed to make these clothes, you quickly realize that it doesn’t quite work out.

  • Raw materials: Plants on plantations, water, food helpers, sheep and cattle, farmers…
  • Cleaning and dyeing: water, pigments, dyes…
  • Weaving, cutting, drawing on rolls….
  • Transport: ship, fuel, truck, railroad, logistics center, railroad,…
  • Sewing thread: Yarn mills…
  • Designers: labour and material costs (computer programs, paper, writing tools, selection of materials…
  • intermediary brokers
  • Tailors: Handicraft, sewing machines are operated by people…
  • Packaging: Paper industry…
  • Photos: Photographers, models, light…
  • Energy & Time!

So, I’m not finished yet, but I think it’s enough for the question: Is there a T-shirt for 4 €?

“There’s nothing you can do about it.” Wrong!

Faunauge's Founder
Sustainable fashion by “Thought” and “Armedangels”, available at the Leipzig based shops “Draufgänger” and “Grünschnabel”

Sustainable fashion by “Thought” and “Armedangels” from the Leipzig stores “Draufgänger” and “Grünschnabel”.
Not falling for cheap promises would be a start. Fast fashion suggests personal wealth. “I can afford the latest fashion, I’m up to date, a fashionista! I have as many clothes as a queen!” But this has nothing to do with style or a strong personality, but only with a mass behaviour guided by a minority. Only for this small minority, who define and plan this fashion, is this movement financially worthwhile. Many consumers throw away these quickly produced garments and buy new ones. A vicious circle, because in this way you spend a lot more money in a short time than you actually have in the cupboard.
In addition, unimaginable mountains of garbage are being created, which – attention! Because of unnatural ingredients, they often do not even decompose.
Instead, we can deliberately buy from brands or smaller labels that belong to the Slow Fashion movement. These produce sustainable, fair and also top fashionable! The cliché of eco-fashion has long since ceased to apply here. Have a look at the “Grünschnabel” in Oelsners Hof in Leipzig between Ritterstraße and Nikolaistraße.
Or if a part is really no longer portable, just re-stitch it! Upcycling is great. So less is thrown away and gets a new life! Try it!

“What are the advantages of slow fashion?”

  • Planetary grown raw materials
  • Reasonable paid farmers
  • No torn apart family structures
  • Healthy workers
  • energy conservation
  • water saving
  • Longer lasting materials
  • Pretty Fashion
  • sense of responsibility
  • intelligence
  • education
  • style

For further reading, informing, astonishing

No one who thinks like that thinks it all up. Many of them write a lot more than I do and are able to present connections better. Therefore, have a look at the following pages, they are not alternative facts.

Impressively enlightening film: “The True Cost”
The initiative gives workers a face: The Fashion Revolution
Oxfam ambassador and founder of EcoAge for more responsibility in the fashion industry: Livia Firth
Great names, great consciousness: Stella McCartney
Shops in Leipzig: Draufgänger and Grünschnabel

And now me! I made your hat!

I often end up with wonderful donations of cloth from colleagues and friends. Thanks to all of you! For example, Julia Seyfarth, who plays a major role for Faunauge. Or Janet Sprotte from Zaneta Bridal Fashion. I use it to make my unique one-of-a-kind bridal accessories, wedding belts, headdress and gothic accessories. Meanwhile, Faunauge also offers elaborate vintage hats. All made in my studio. Everything you get from me is completely handmade. It takes time to design, assemble materials and, of course, manufacture. But I will gladly take this time for your jewellery!

I made your hat!

The face of Faunauge
The face of Faunauge

Posted on

Who made my clothes? I made your hat!

Romy Marienfeld Inhaberin Faunauge

Die globale Slow-Fashion-Bewegung ist ein wichtiger Teil, ein Bewusstsein für Nachhaltigkeit und eine gerechtere Behandlung von ArbeiterInnen zu schaffen, die die Bekleidung der gesamten Welt anfertigen. Die Arbeitsbedingungen unter denen gefertigt werden, sind der Mehrheit der Konsumenten oft nicht bewusst oder werden bewusst ignoriert. Doch immer mehr VerbraucherInnen treten öffentlich auf, um das Missverhältnis umzukehren. Die Produzierenden bekommen ein Gesicht, treten nicht mehr in einer Masse auf, deren Bedürfnisse nicht gehört werden.

Was passiert?

Eine Kampagne erinnert an den Einsturz der Textilfabrik Rana Plaza. „Who made your clothes?“ Dabei ist das Rana Plaza nur ein Beispiel unter vielen Missständen in den produzierenden Ländern. Falsch läuft zum einen, dass die Sicherheitsbedingungen und die Bausubstanz der Fabriken nicht nur in Bangladesh sondern auch Vietnam u.a. extrem mangelbehaftet sind. Die Schneiderinnen und Schneider werden unter Androhung von Lohnkürzungen gezwungen, in einsturzgefährdeten Gebäuden zu arbeiten. Zum anderen sind die gezahlten Löhne lebensunwürdig. Familien, die eigentlich auf dem Land leben, müssen sich trennen, da die Eltern in den Städten etwas mehr Geld verdienen. Jedoch sind die Entfernungsüberwindungen nicht so luxuriös wie bei uns in Deutschland. Pendeln heißt, sich nur ca. zweimal im Jahr zu sehen. Und wenn sich jemand beschwert oder gar in Gewerkschaften verbünden möchte, wird sie oder er noch körperlich bedroht.

Aber alles, was ich an dieser Stelle nur minimal zusammenfassen kann, lässt sich beispielsweise im Film „The True Cost“ viel besser erfahren. Eine absolute Empfehlung!

„Na und? Ist doch einfach, so’n Shirt zu produzieren.“

Ach wirklich? Wer hat das schonmal probiert? Dazu gehört Verständnis und Know-How. T-Shirts für 4 €, Hosen für 10 €, Schuhe für 20 €? Wenn man kurz zusammenzählt, was gebraucht wird, um diese Kleidungsstücke herzustellen, merkt man schnell, dass das irgendwie nicht ganz aufgeht.

  • Rohstoffe: Pflanzen auf Plantagen, Wasser, Ernetehelfer, Schafe und Rinder, Farmer…
  • Reinigung und Färbung: Wasser, Pigmente, Farbstoffe…
  • Weben, Zuschnitt, auf Rollen ziehen…
  • Transportieren: Schiff, Treibstoff, LKW, Bahn, Logistikzentren…
  • Nähgarn: Garnwerke…
  • Designer: Lohn- und Materialkosten (Computerprogramme, Papier, Schreibwerkzeuge, Auswahl der Stoffe…
  • Zwischenhändler
  • Schneiderinnen und Schneider: Handwerk, Nähmaschinen werden von Menschen bedient…
  • Verpackung: Papierindustrie…
  • Fotos: Fotografen, Modells, Licht…
  • Energie & Zeit!

So, fertig bin ich noch lange nicht, aber ich glaube, es reicht für die Frage: Gibt es ein T-Shirt für 4 €?

„Da kann man doch eh nichts ändern.“ Falsch!

Romy Marienfeld
Nachhaltige Mode von „Thought“ und „Armedangels“ aus den Leipziger Läden „Draufgänger“ und „Grünschnabel“

Nicht auf billige Versprechen hereinzufallen, wäre ein Anfang. Die Fast Fashion suggeriert uns persönlichen Reichtum. „Ich kann mir die neueste Mode leisten, bin up to date, eine Fashionista! Ich habe so viele Klamotten wie eine Königin!“ Aber das hat nichts mit Stil oder einer starken Persönlichkeit zu tun, sondern nur mit einem von einer Minderheit gelenkten Massenverhalten. Nur für diese kleine Minderheit, die diese Mode bestimmt und plant, lohnt sich diese Bewegung finanziell. Viele Konsumenten werfen diese schnell produzierten Kleidungsstücke weg und kaufen neue. Eine Teufelskreis, denn so gibt man in Summe in kurzer Zeit viel mehr Geld aus als man eigentlich im Schrank hängen hat.
Zudem entstehen unvorstellbare Müllberge, die – Achtung! – aufgrund unnatürlicher Inhaltsstoffe oft nicht einmal verrotten können.
Wir können stattdessen nämlich bewusst auch von Marken oder kleineren Labels kaufen, die der Slow Fashion Bewegung angehören und auf Nachhaltigkeit setzen. Diese produzieren nachhaltig, fair und auch top modisch! Das Klischee der Ökomode greift hier schon lange nicht mehr. Guckt mal im „Grünschnabel“ in Oelsners Hof in Leipzig zwischen Ritterstraße und Nikolaistraße vorbei.
Oder wenn ein Teil wirklich nicht mehr tragbar ist, näht es einfach um! Upcycling ist super. So wird weniger weggeworfen und bekommt ein neues Leben! Probiert es!

„Welche Vorteile bringen Slow Fashion und Nachhaltigkeit?“

  • Planetenfreundlich angebaute Rohstoffe
  • Vernünftg entlohnte Farmer
  • Keine auseinandergerissenen Familienstrukturen
  • Gesunde Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter
  • Energieeinsparung
  • Wassereinsparung
  • Länger haltbare Materialien
  • Hübsche Mode
  • Verantwortungsbewusstsein
  • Information
  • Bildung
  • Stil

Zum Weiterlesen, informieren, staunen

Niemand, der so ähnlich denkt, denkt sich das alles aus. Viele schreiben viel mehr als ich und können Zusammenhänge besser darstellen. Daher schaut euch auch folgende Seiten an, es sind keine alternativen Fakten.

Und jetzt ich! I made your hat!

Bei mir landen oft herrliche Stoffspenden von Kollegen und Freunden. Danke an euch alle! Zum Beispiel Julia Seyfarth, die eine große Rolle für Faunauge spielt. Oder auch Janet Sprotte von Zaneta Brautmode. Daraus stelle ich meine Unikate an Brautaccessoires, Brautgürteln, Kopfschmuck und Gothic Accessoires her. Mittlerweile gibt es von Faunauge auch aufwendige Vintagehüte. Alles hergestellt in meinem Atelier. Alles, was ihr bei mir bekommt, ist komplett Handarbeit im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit. Es braucht Zeit zur Konzeption, Materialzusammenstellung und natürlich Herstellung. Aber diese Zeit nehme ich mir gerne für euren Schmuck!

I made your hat!

Romy Marienfeld Inhaberin Faunauge
Das Gesicht hinter dem Label Faunauge